The redunkulousness of having a coffee budget

WHO would have though 15-20 years ago one would need to budget for their coffee consumption?  Who in their right mind would think anyone would pay $3.50 for a coffee?  God Bless America!

You know, I expect to be over-charged and pay $3.50 for my mocha habit at Starbucks.  What I don’t expect and what gives me an awkward tinge of guilty heartburn is paying $3.75 for a smaller size at my church coffee shop.  Yes, I belong to one of those cool, trendy churches that actually has a cafe’ on its premises.  That aside, where is the tenet of generosity of our faith when my wallet is hijacked by the looting horde of mocha’s, caramel macchiatos and green tea lattes?  Of course I know I don’t have to succumb to the temptation, but if you want to go there, should the church be in the business of tempting me to begin with?  It’s an unholy alliance from top to bottom!  Especially when you consider they charge $1 a donut!  Remember the days when coffee and donuts were free after the service?  Well I do.  It was at our old church.  Makes me think, maybe competition isn’t so bad after all.  Now I shall retire to repent of my sins.

What would Jesus do?

What would Jesus do?

One thought on “The redunkulousness of having a coffee budget

  1. Julie and I typically treat ourselves to a $3.50-$4 specialty coffee on the weekends, but during the week, it’s home-made Dunkin Donuts coffee every day. I can live with the expensive coffee once or twice a week, but a buck for a doughnut? Ouch!

Leave a Reply

